HOME


CONTACT ME

wp6e4fb020.jpg

Home
Celiac Introduction
Gluten & Wheat Free Foods
Gluten Free Flour Facts 1
Gluten Free Flour Facts 2

Snacks & Starters
Soups
Salads
Rice & Pasta
Fish

Kosher Introduction
Permitted Kosher Foods
Pesach Pages
Pesach Recipe Index
My Kitchen Equipment
My Store Cupboard

Meat
Poultry
Vegetarian Mains
Vegetables

Cooking Conversion Charts
Other Interesting Items
Links
Contact Me


Breads
Baking - Cakes
Baking - Cookies/Biscuits
Deserts
Pastry

CLICK TO ORDER YOUR COPY OF THE KOSHER CELIAC’S PASSOVER E-COOKBOOK

anneluder.co.uk
Interesting and Informative Garden Talks for Horticultural Societies
& Other Groups (U3A WI etc) within London & Surrounding CountiesUK

Permitted Foods

All fruits and all vegetables provided they are properly cleaned to remove dirt etc.

All grains - now this is where intolerance will cause a problem - see Gluten free section

All seeds and nuts and milks derived from them ie soya or rice milk.

Eggs

The above 4 categories can be used with either dairy or meat meals.

All four footed animals that chew the cud and have cloven (split) hooves commonly cattle and sheep; however, venison and goat are also kosher but not available nowdays that I know of. Animals are ritually slaughtered. Today most meat is pre koshered but if it is not then one must soak and salt it to remove blood.

Milk from the above-mentioned animals

Most domesticated fowl - chickens, turkey, duck, and goose - quail is also kosher but again where does one buy it. This means that eggs from these birds are also kosher and you can buy quail eggs! Ostrich is not kosher even though they breed them in Israel it is specifically forbidden.

Fish that has both scales and fins - I put them in that order because all fish that have scales have fins. We are not allowed cartilaginous fish ie shark, nor are we allowed octopus, skate, or eel.

Prohibitions

We are prohibited from eating animals found to be diseased when slaughtered, or those that have died from natural causes- also applies to fowl and fish. Also prohibited are certain fats and sinews and in the UK we are unable to purchase hindquarter meat as this has not had the sinews removed.

Other prohibitions are:

Shellfish and seafood
Non-kosher animals and fish or their bi-products
Insects
Reptiles
Birds of prey
Wild birds
Blood
Foods mixing meat and milk.

Neutral or Parve foods

We have talked about meat and milk but there are some foods that are neutral. These are foods that can be used with either meat or dairy dishes. The most obvious are fruit, vegetables and seeds including their derivatives such as oils.

Eggs are also neutral but are only considered kosher if they do not contain a bloodspot ie are not fertilised. White eggs are just as likely to contain blood spots as brown but it is easier to see through the shells. Unfortunately unless the hens are kept cockerel free then blood spots do occur. I always break my eggs into a glass to check them and to smell them - just in case they're off.

Fish is neutral by Torah standards but a rabbinic decision by Maimonides (who was also a doctor) decreed that fish and meat should not be cooked together and if served at the same meal then an intermediate parve item or drink should be served between them.


Kosher Cookery